Invitation for abstract submission, COSPAR D2.4/E3.4 Session: Sun-Heliosphere Connection Events: Origin, Propagation, Impact and Prediction.

January 16, 2020, from Miho Janvier

COSPAR D2.4/E3.4 Session: Sun-Heliosphere Connection Events: Origin, Propagation, Impact and Prediction. Sydney, Australia, 15 – 22 August 2020

Dear all,

Please note the abstract submission deadline for the COSPAR D2.4/E3.4 session on February 14th 2020. Details of the session can be found below:

The study of solar transients (CMEs-ICMEs, flares, shocks, SEPs, SIRs/CIRs) and how they impact on the Earth and other planets have made significant progress in the last decade, thanks to a suite of heliospheric spacecraft observations and high performance numerical MHD simulations and modeling. These advances enable to study the global evolution of CMEs and CIRs starting from the solar surface into interplanetary space and to planets. Data-driven 3D numerical simulation of solar transients has become a powerful tool for improving our understanding in the physical processes that can be used for event prediction. In this session we invite contributions based on models and/or observations of solar transients, covering the initiation of CMEs and flares, CME driven-shock formation, CME propagation in the heliosphere, interaction with the solar wind, the link between CMEs and SEPs, prediction of their characteristics (Bs, hit/miss, arrival times, impact speed, etc.) on Earth and other planets. This session particularly focuses on events and studies that address geo-effectiveness.

Details can be found at .

The abstract submission deadline is Feb. 14, 2020.

Confirmed invitation speakers: Mike Wheatland (Univ. of Sydney, Australia), Lucie Green (MSSL, UK), Rui Liu (USTC, China), Georgios Chintzoglou (LMSAL, USA), Xueshang Feng (NSSC, China), Noe Lugaz (Univ. of New Hampshire, USA), Jasmina Magdalenic (ROB, Belgium), Spiro Antiochos (NASA/GSFC, USA), Ben Lynch (Univ. Berkeley, USA), Ryun Young Kwon (KASI, Korea), Qiang Hu (Univ. of Huntsville, USA), Daiko Shiota (NICT, Japan), Iwai Kazumasa (Nagoya Univ., Japan), Camila Scolini (ROB/KU-Leuven, Belgium), Ward Manchester (Univ. of Michigan, USA), Erika Palmerio (Univ. of Berkeley, USA), Sophie Murray (Dublin Inst. of Advanced Study, Ireland), Mateja Dumbovic (Univ. of Zagreb, Croatia), Nat Gopalswamy (NASA/GSFC, USA), Chenglong Shen (USTC, China)

Scientific Organization Committee: Jie Zhang (George Mason Univ., USA) (Main Scientific Organizer), Miho Janvier (Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale, France) (Deputy Organizer), Manuela Temmer (Univ. of Graz, Austria) (Deputy Organizer),
Alessandro Bemporad (INAF Turin Astrophysical Observatory, Italy), Kyungsuk Cho (Korean Astronomy and Space Science Institute, Korea), Sergio Dasso (Instituto de Astronomía y Física del Espacio, Argentina), Jackie Davies (Science and Technology Facilities Council, United Kingdom), Emilia Kilpua (University of Helsinki, Finland), Kanya Kusano (Nagoya University, Japan), Spiro Patsourakos (University of Ioannina, Greece), Nandita Srivastava (Udaipur Solar Observatory, India), Bothmer Volker (University of Göttingen, Germany), Bojan Vrsnak (University of Zagreb, Croatia), Yuming Wang (University of Science of Technology of China, China)