Second Announcement – IAU Symposium 335: Space Weather of the Heliosphere: Processes and Forecasts

January 30, 2017, from Claire Foullon

Registration is now open for IAUS335, Space Weather of the Heliosphere: Processes and Forecasts. The symposium will be held at the University of Exeter, UK, from 17 – 21 July 2017.

Space weather is increasingly recognised as an international challenge faced by several communities. The ability to understand, monitor and forecast the space weather of the Earth and the heliosphere is of paramount importance for our high-technology society and for the current rapid developments in knowledge and exploration within our Solar System.

We invite you to register today to discuss this important area of research and to:

*Contribute to scientific sessions and one of two round tables.
*Take part in a poster competition for young scientists as an applicant or as a judge.
*Attend a half-day excursion to the Norman Lockyer Observatory.
*Take part in optional scientific tours, including the UK Met Office.
*Join in with our parallel Education Program, featuring public talks and workshops for schools and teachers.
*Contribute to and receive dedicated Conference Proceedings afterwards.

This is a two-stage registration process. The deadline for the submission of abstracts and for financial support is 27 February 2017. The deadline for early registration is 20 April 2017.

Specific details including the confirmed lists of invited speakers, registration and accommodation, abstract submission, financial support, updated information about location, scientific excursions, social events, and travel can be found on the symposium website.

We look forward to welcoming you in Exeter this year!

On behalf of the IAU Symposium 335 Organising Committees,

The Scientific Organising Committee:
Claire Foullon (Chair), Olga Malandraki (Co-chair), Zouhair Benkhaldoun, Francesco Berrilli, Anil Bhardwaj, Allan Sacha Brun, Norma Bock Crosby, Sergio Dasso, Alina Donea, Hans Haubold, Hermann Opgenoorth, Patricia Reiff, Kazuo Shiokawa, Ilya Usoskin, Jingxiu Wang, David Webb

The Local Organising Committee:
Claire Foullon (Chair), Mitchell Berger (Co-chair), David Jackson (Co-chair), Mark Baldwin, Alice Mills, David Strange

Contact us:
Twitter: #iaus335 @iaus335

This event is kindly supported by:
Lead sponsor: International Astronomical Union (IAU)
Co-sponsors: RAS, VarSITI, STFC Astronomy, EGU, COSPAR, IAGA, CUP, IoP Plasma Physics, DK Books, AFOSR (tbc).
Further sponsorship opportunities are available.