Space Climate School and Space Climate 6 Symposium

September 29, 2015, from David Williams (UKSP DC)

from Timo Asikainen

******************* First Announcement *******************

Dear Colleagues and Friends!
We have the great pleasure to invite You to

Space Climate School
Space Climate 6 Symposium

to be held in Levi, Finnish Lapland.

The School will take place from 30 March to 3 April, 2016, and the Symposium in 4 – 7 April, 2016.

Space Climate is an active and topical field of research of space physics, which studies the long-term variations of solar activity and its effects in the heliosphere and near-Earth environment, including atmosphere and climate.  Space Climate 6 Symposium brings together leading experts on the field with the objective, e.g., to better understand sunspots and the other forms of solar activity (flares, coronal mass ejections, coronal holes, high-speed solar wind streams etc.) during the last few centuries. One important aspect is to better understand the various datasets used for space climate studies.

Space Climate School is concentrated on different long-term datasets available for space climate studies and their analysis using, e.g., pattern recognition, statistical and other methods relevant to large data bases. These topics are important for space climate research, which utilizes long, often inhomogeneous measurement series of, e.g., solar, solar wind, geomagnetic and climate observations. School lecturers are internationally recognized scientists with broad teaching experience. Space Climate School offers, to students and young scientists, a unique opportunity to learn important aspects of Space Climate science.



Axel Brandenburg, Paul Charbonneau, Ed Cliver, Marius Echim, Katya Georgieva, Sarah Gibson, Nat Gopalswamy, Maarit Käpylä, Dan Marsh, Kalevi Mursula (chair), Dibyendu Nandi, Alexei Pevtsov, Alexis Rouillard, Alexander Ruzmaikin, Eija Tanskanen, Andrei Tlatov, Ilya Usoskin (vice-chair), Mirela Voiculescu, Bertalan Zieger

Timo Asikainen (chair), Lauri Holappa, Jennimari Koskela, Kalevi Mursula, Timo Qvick, Ilya Usoskin,
Ilpo Virtanen (vice-chair), Iiro Virtanen, Pauli Väisänen, Liyun Zhang.

Further details on abstract submission, registration, and accommodation will be available soon at the meeting website

For questions, contact:

Welcome to Space Climate School and Space Climate Symposium in Levi!

Sincerely Yours,

Kalevi Mursula (SOC chair) Timo Asikainen (LOC chair)
Ilya Usoskin (SOC vice-chair) Ilpo Virtanen (LOC vice-chair)