Mentors

The UK Solar Physics community has decided to put in place a mentoring scheme. The mentors cover a range of career stages and are available to provide advice on a range of issues, e.g. jobs (applying for post-docs, promotions), applying for grants, publishing, outreach, writing up the PhD etc.

Mentors can either be contacted directly or via the UKSP council. We note this is not an attempt to replace University mentoring schemes, but should be used an additional resource.

Senior

Prof. Philippa Browning – University of Manchester (phillipa.browning at manchester.ac.uk)

Prof. Bill Chaplin – University of Birmingham (w.j.chaplin at bham.ac.uk)

Prof. Ineke de Moortel – University of St Andrews (ineke.demoortel at st-andrews.ac.uk)

Prof. Lucie Green – Mullard Space Science Laboratory, UCL (lucie.green at ucl.ac.uk)

Prof. Lyndsay Fletcher, University of Glasgow (lyndsay.fletcher at glasgow.ac.uk )

Prof. Louise Harra – PMOD/WRC, Switzerland (louise.harra at pmodwrc.ch)

Prof. Francis Keenan – Queen’s University Belfast (f.keenan at qub.ac.uk)

Dr Nicolas Labrosse – University of Glasgow (nicolas.Labrosse at glasgow.ac.uk)

Dr Helen Mason – University of Cambridge (hm11 at damtp.cam.ac.uk)

Prof. Mihalis Mathioudakis – Queen’s University Belfast (m.mathioudakis at qub.ac.uk)

Prof. James McLaughlin – Northumbria University (james.a.mclaughlin at northumbria.ac.uk)

Dr Mathew Owens – University of Reading (m.j.owens at reading.ac.uk)

Dr David Pontin – University of Newcastle, Australia (david.pontin at newcastle.edu.au)

Prof. Robertus Erdélyi – University of Sheffield (robertus at sheffield.ac.uk)

Prof. Anthony Yeates – University of Durham (anthony.yeates at durham.ac.uk)

Early Career

Dr David Long – Mullard Space Science Laboratory, UCL (david.long at ucl.ac.uk)

Dr Richard Morton – University of Northumbria (richard.morton at northumbria.ac.uk)

Dr Alexander Russell – University of Dundee (arussell at maths.dundee.ac.uk)

Dr James Threlfall – University of St Andrews (jwt9 at st-andrews.ac.uk)

Dr Marion Weinzierl – University of Durham (marion.weinzierl at durham.ac.uk)

Dr Natasha Jeffrey – Northumbria University (natasha.jeffrey at northumbria.ac.uk)