Second announcement of the 2019 Les Houches School on Plasma Physics

November 29, 2018, from Miho Janvier


Dates and location: May 13-24 2019, Les Houches, France.

We are pleased to inform you of the opening of the pre-registration for the 2019 Les Houches School on Plasma Physics. The pre-registration will close on 15th February 2019. The conference center in Les Houches can accommodate up to 46 participants, and the selected attendees will be notified at the beginning of March.

Overview and objectives:

This two-week school held in the French Alps focuses on plasma physics and its manifestations in laboratory experiments, space environment and in astrophysics. It targets an international audience primarily composed of PhD students and junior postdoctoral researchers. The objective is to introduce the participants to a wide range of fundamental aspects of plasma physics, as well as to the state-of-the-art in many of the sub-disciplines. The school will feature blackboard-style lectures, hands-on activities, talks on latest research, presentation by students, as well as group work such as journal clubs and social activities. This school is the latest of a series of programs held every two years since 2011 at the Les Houches School of Physics on similar topics (2011, 2013, 2015, 2017).

For more information about the program and updates see:

Confirmed Lecturers:

Troy Carter (UCLA, USA)
Benoît Cerutti (CNRS & Université Grenoble Alpes, France)
Christopher Chen (Queen Mary University of London, UK)
Andrea Ciardi (Sorbonne Université, France)
Mickaël Grech (CNRS & Ecole Polytechnique, France)
Thomas Grismayer (IPFN Portugal)
Per Helander (IPP, Germany)
Emmanuel d’Humières (Université de Bordeaux, France)
Karine Issautier (CNRS & Observatoire de Paris, France)
Miho Janvier (Université Paris-Sud, France)
Kumiko Kotera (CNRS & Sorbonne Université, France)
Matthew Kunz (Princeton University, USA)
Henrik Latter (University of Cambridge, UK)
Sergei Lebedev (Imperial College London, UK)
Nuno Loureiro (MIT, USA)
Andrea Mignone (University of Torino, Italy)
Paolo Ricci (EPFL, Switzerland)
François Rincon (CNRS & Université Paul Sabatier, France)
Alexander Schekochihin (University of Oxford, UK)
Anatoly Spitkovsky (Princeton University, USA)
Hendrik Spruit (MPIA Garching, Germany)
Tommaso Vinci (CNRS & Ecole Polytechnique, France)
Philippe Zarka (CNRS & Observatoire de Paris, France)
Ellen Zweibel (Wisconsin-Madison, USA)

Scientific and local organising committee:

Benoît Cerutti (CNRS & Université Grenoble Alpes, France)
Andrea Ciardi (Sorbonne Université, France)
Emmanuel d’Humières (Université de Bordeaux, France)
Miho Janvier (Université Paris-Sud, France)
Nuno Loureiro (MIT, USA)