Roadmap for Solar System Research

July 14, 2021, from tdomf_b336c

Dear colleagues,

Please note that the submission deadline has been extended to the 31 July 2021.

The original email can be found below.


Dear colleagues,

The STFC Solar System Advisory Panel (SSAP) is undertaking a review of the “Roadmap for Solar System Research”, to be presented to STFC Science Board later this year.

This is expected to be a substantial update of the Roadmap, as the last full review was carried out in 2012, with a light-touch update in 2015.

The current version of the SSAP Roadmap can be found at:

In carrying out this review, we will take into account changes in the international landscape, and advances in instrumentation, technology, theory, and modelling work.

As such, we solicit your input and comments on the existing roadmap and any material we should consider in this revision. This consultation will close on WEDNESDAY 14 JULY 2021 and SSAP will try to give a preliminary assessment of findings at NAM

This consultation is seeking the view of all members of our community and we particularly encourage early career researchers to respond.

Specifically, we invite:

1. Comments and input on the current “Roadmap for Solar System Research” via the survey at .

2. Short “white papers” on science investigations (including space missions, ground-based experimental facilities, or computing infrastructure) and impact and knowledge exchange (e.g. societal and community impact, technology development). Please contact the STFC Programme Support Group (PSG) for a pro-forma – Once complete please return the pro-forma to PSG (deadline Wed 14 July 2021).

Kind regards,
Ineke De Moortel, on behalf of the Solar System Advisory Panel

Current SSAP Membership
John Bridges – University of Leicester
Mark Burchell – University of Kent at Canterbury
Ineke De Moortel – University of St Andrews (Chair)
Jonathan Eastwood – Imperial College London (Deputy Chair)
Yvonne Elsworth – University of Birmingham
Suzie Imber – University of Leicester
Ashley King – Natural History Museum
Richard Morton – University of Northumbria