STFC-funded PhD position at the University of Sheffield—closing date 01 April 2022

The School of Mathematics and Statistics (SoMaS) at the University of Sheffield offers one fully funded STFC PhD studentship in solar physics tenable from 1st October 2022 or 1st January 2023. The successful applicant will work with world leading experts in advanced analytical/numerical modelling, and analysis of high-resolution observations obtained by cutting-edge ground and space based instruments.

More information on the groups with interest in solar physics and the research carried out can be found at or

The studentship provides UKRI tuition and maintenance fees for up to 3.5 years (subject to satisfactory progress).

Successful applicant will be able to work in one of the following topics:

– General MHD wave theory with solar and astrophysical applications
– Numerical modelling (HPC and GPU computing) of wave processes in the solar atmosphere
– MHD wave observations and solar magneto-seismology
– Heating of the solar atmosphere: waves, reconnection, etc.
– Novel joint ground-based and satellite observations of the Sun and Sun-Earth system
– Analysis of ionospheric perturbations: application to climate prediction and natural hazard risk assessment
– Energy transfer mechanisms in the Sun-Earth system
– Deep Learning / Machine Learning in application to solar data analysis

Applications are invited from Mathematics, Physics, or Engineering students who have graduated or expect to graduate with a first or upper-second class degree.

This studentship is for UK applicants only. More about the eligibility can be found at

The deadline for application is 1st of April 2022, but applications will be considered until the position is filled.

How to apply:
Please send a covering letter outlining the proposed project area (if you have a specific interest), CV, exam result transcripts, any relevant publications and the names and contact details of two references to one of the contact addresses below or to:

For more information, contact:

Dr Istvan Ballai (
Dr Rekha Jain (
Dr Gary Verth (
Prof Robert von Fay-Siebenburgen (