EST Science Meeting Giardini Naxos (Me, Italy) – 11–15 June 2018: 2nd Announcement

April 1, 2018, from Richard Morton

Registration and abstract submission are open for the conference “EST Science Meeting” that will be held in Giardini Naxos (Me), Italy, on 11 – 15 June 2018, (
Important Deadlines
Abstract submission: April 13
Early registration: April 30
Hotel booking (AtaHotel Naxos Beach Resort): April 27
Scientific rationale. The European Solar Telescope (EST), is a 4-metre class aperture telescope designed to investigate our active Sun at very high spatial and temporal resolution and unprecedented polarimetric sensitivity. The project is promoted by the European Association for Solar Telescopes (EAST), whose aim is to ensure access of European solar astronomers to world-class high-resolution ground-based observing facilities and keep Europe at the forefront of solar physics.
The EST Science Meeting aims at gathering scientists who wish to present their most recent theoretical and observational research in the field. The meeting will highlight the key science cases that will be addressed by the 4-metre class solar telescopes, and the synergies with both current and future ground-based and space-borne facilities.

A Science Requirements Document, describing how and why the unique capabilities of EST will provide answers to several key science questions, will be presented at the Meeting. EST will be the heritage of the entire solar physics community and, for this reason, it is expected that the scientific community and in particular the EST Science Meeting participants, will contribute with science cases that will then be reflected in the Science Requirement Document.

Scientific Sessions

The state-of-the-art of the EST project
Structure and evolution of magnetic flux
Wave coupling throughout solar atmosphere
Chromospheric dynamics and heating
Large scale magnetic structures: sunspots, prominences and filaments
The solar corona
Solar flares and eruptive events
Scattering physics and Hanle-Zeeman diagnostics

Luca Belluzzi (IRSOL, Switzerland)
Mats Carlsson (Universitet i Oslo, Norway)
Manuel Collados Vera (IAC, Spain)
Jan Jurcak (CAS, Czech Republic)
Mihalis Mathioudakis (QUB, United Kingdom)
Sarah Matthews (MSSL, United Kingdom)
Robertus Erdelyi (U. of Sheffield, United Kingdom)
Rolf Schlichenmaier (Co-Chair, KIS, Germany)
Dominik Utz (IGAM, Austria)
Francesca Zuccarello (Chair, Università di Catania, Italy)

Clelia Anastasi (Università di Catania, Italy)
Giancarlo Bellassai (INAF – Osservatorio Astrofisico di Catania, Italy)
Mariachiara Falco (INAF – Osservatorio Astrofisico di Catania, Italy)
Manuel González (IAA – CSIC, Spain)
Salvo Guglielmino (Università di Catania, Italy)
Alejandra Martin Gálvez (IAC, Spain)
Eugenio Martinetti (INAF – Osservatorio Astrofisico di Catania, Italy)
Paolo Romano (Co-Chair, INAF – Osservatorio Astrofisico di Catania, Italy)
Gina Santagati (INAF – Osservatorio Astrofisico di Catania, Italy)
Francesca Zuccarello (Chair, Università di Catania, Italy)
For further information, please contact .

Francesca Zuccarello
on behalf of the SOC and the LOC