PhD Opportunities in Space Physics at Imperial College London 2021

November 25, 2020, from Adam Masters

The Space & Atmospheric Physics Group at Imperial College London is now receiving applications for admission to our Space Physics PhD programme in October 2021. The following projects are on offer this academic year. Applicants are encouraged to contact potential supervisors in advance.

———-
Surface waves above the magnetic poles
Supervisors: Dr Martin Archer & Dr Jonathan Eastwood
m.archer10@imperial.ac.uk
jonathan.eastwood@imperial.ac.uk

Plasma environment around Ganymede
Supervisor: Prof Marina Galand
m.galand@imperial.ac.uk

Emissions from the coma of comet 67P
Supervisor: Prof Marina Galand
m.galand@imperial.ac.uk

Bow shocks of Venus and Mercury
Supervisor: Dr Heli Hietala
h.hietala@imperial.ac.uk

How does the Sun create the solar wind?
Supervisor: Prof Tim Horbury
t.horbury@imperial.ac.uk

Aeronomy of Jupiter or Mars & Venus
Supervisor: Dr Ingo Mueller-Wodarg
i.mueller-wodarg@imperial.ac.uk

Laboratory Astrophysics: Spectroscopy of astrophysically important elements and applications of the new atomic data to astrophysics
Supervisor: Prof Juliet Pickering
j.pickering@imperial.ac.uk

Probing the nonlinear dynamics of turbulence in space plasma
Supervisor: Dr Julia Stawarz
j.stawarz@imperial.ac.uk

———-

This is an open call for applications, but positions are generally filled following interviews in the January to March timeframe. The final number of studentships we have available is confirmed around this time.

Studentships typically include a stipend to support living costs. Fees for home (UK, (pre-)settled status holder, indefinite leave to remain or enter) students, are covered, but not international student fees. EU students who do not have a (pre-)settled status will be considered international students. Applicants who are not UK nationals are particularly encouraged to contact supervisors before submitting an application.

We will be holding a virtual open day on Friday 15th January via Microsoft Teams. Potential supervisors will talk about their projects, and there will be opportunities to talk to individual supervisors in “breakout” rooms.

For more information about the projects on offer, the upcoming open day, and for instructions on how to apply, please see the below webpage.

https://www.imperial.ac.uk/space-and-atmospheric-physics/postgraduate-studies/phd-opportunities/


Category: