Solar MHD II: “Informing MHD simulations from observations”

Conference dates: Monday 2nd – Thursday 5th September 2024
Venue: Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias, Tenerife, Spain
Registration and abstract submission open
Abstract submission deadline: 15 July 2024

We are looking forward to an exceptional line-up of hands-on and speaker sessions at Solar MHD 2024 (see below). This year’s event promises to be our most dynamic and groundbreaking yet, and we are excited to invite you to be a part of this meeting.

Hands on workshop sessions:
“Spectral synthesis and simulated data”, Dr. Adur Yabar Pastor, Stockholm University, Sweden
“Machine learning in observations”, Dr. Andreas Asensio-Ramos, IAC, Spain
“Feature identification, tracking and classification algorithms”, host TBC

Invited speakers:
“The next generation of solar and stellar MHD simulations”, Dr Damien Przybylski, Max Planck, Germany
“Spectral synthesis and simulated data”, Dr. Christopher Osborne, Glasgow University, UK
“Enhanced MHD/hybrid models”, Dr. Fabio Bacchini, KU Leuven, Belgium
“Two-fluid and partially ionised plasma models”, Dr. Ben Snow, Exeter, UK
“Using observations to establish constraints for MHD simulations”, Dr José Juan González Avilés, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Financial support: Full financial support is available for 3 students from the European Space Agency member states through the ESA sponsorship scheme. Additional support for Early Career Researchers may also be considered. Please, check the conference webpage for details.

Registration fee: £250 (EUR 290)

The conference fee covers:

  • the full 3.5 days of attendance including 3 hands-on workshop sessions, 6 speaker sessions;
  • Lunches;
  • Coffee breaks;
  • Conference dinner;
  • Excursion to the Teide observatory; 
  • A conference icebreaker event.

If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us:

Suzana de Souza e Almeida Silva (
Malcolm Druett (
Elena Khomenko (
Rahul Sharma (

We are committed to creating an inclusive culture where we take pride in, and value, the diversity of our meeting participants. We encourage and welcome participation from all members of the community. We particularly welcome participation from historically under-represented groups.